The pre-selection report for ECoC 2027 in Portugal is already available

The pre-selection of the European Capital of Culture in 2027 in Portugal report is already available, and it can be downloaded here.
In this document, the panel members describe the selection process from among the 12 cities that entered the competition. The jury pre-selected the cities of Ponta Delgada, Aveiro, Braga and Évora.
The report considerations about the concept of each bid but also of the six criteria that guided the decision (contribution to the long-term strategy of the city, cultural and artistic content, European dimension, outreach, management and capacity to deliver).
The cities were evaluated on the content of their bid books, as well as on the presentation made to the jury, made up of 12 international experts: ten appointed by institutions of the European Union and two nominated by the Portuguese Ministry of Culture.
The portuguese contest was managed by the Bureau for Cultural Strategy, Planning and Assessment (GEPAC), under the Ministry of Culture. 12 Portuguese cities entered the competition: Aveiro, Braga, Coimbra, Évora, Faro, Funchal, Guarda, Leiria, Oeiras, Ponta Delgada, Viana do Castelo and Vila Real.